The end of an amazing year - Reisverslag uit Masaka, Oeganda van Irene - WaarBenJij.nu The end of an amazing year - Reisverslag uit Masaka, Oeganda van Irene - WaarBenJij.nu

The end of an amazing year

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Irene

31 December 2016 | Oeganda, Masaka

On the Maternity ward there is a list with best quotes on positive attitudes. I will start this blog with one: "The positive thinker sees the invisible, feels the intangible and achieves the impossible".

After the emotional Wednesday morning, we spend some time at Plot 99. I enjoyed the sun, a call home and a chicken wrap. Which was the first time having meat since leaving and that chicken was tasting delicious.

On Thursday morning, after a good night of sleep, I was ready to go back to the hospital. Eline wasn't feeling well so she stayed at the house. It was a really busy day. In the morning I took some pictures (with permission of the midwife in charge) of the ward, hospital and some of the staff. I went to the antenatal care, to do observations for our research. The women are already there around 8.30am, while it starts around 10am. The women can easily wait up to 2-3 hours before it is their turn to be seen by the midwife. Some practice late and I am finally able to do the palpations and hear the heartbeat like they do. At one point I found myself counting medication for HIV, because one of the pregnant woman needed them. When it was around 11.45am I decided to take a break, but it was still very busy at the labour ward. Lisanne was working there and already went with a c section, baby number 10 a girl was born (for the babylist we named her Janne, after my father). She was now managing a woman in labour and I decided to take care of another woman in labour. I was really proud of Lisanne, because we were both sure the woman she was helping could have a normal delivery. The midwives weren't so sure and the doctor was talking about a episiotomy (cut). Lisanne stepped in again, told the woman to push more and then a beautiful girl was born. We went for a quick lunch and when we came back the woman I was managing was still at 9cm dilatation. A long time of waiting started, but also bonding time with the woman and we guided her through the contractions. I did some suggestions of what to do and most of the times the midwife agreed. We do things differently, we are not used their way and they are not used to our ideas. But we communicate a lot, ask why they do certain things and explain to them how we see things. Lisanne and I were really working like a team. While we decided to start pushing the midwife got a bit stressed so I decided she could do the management. The end of the delivery was different from what I would have done, but I did understand why the midwife was doing it. But a healthy beautiful boy (baby number 12!) was born. The midwife told me: "You are clever, you have to share your knowledge, you are doing well". It was really nice to hear that from her.

I have actually given two babies a name the past days. The woman who I helped deliver asked me to name her baby boy, I first said David but that was her brothers name so together we decided on Paul. Last week I went with a c section and talked a bit with the woman before, she told me that two of her four children already died. My heart just broke a little for her and I wanted to take care of her. She was really happy to have a new baby. She was smiling at me everytime I saw her this week. Yesterday morning she would be discharged and she said to me: "Irene, I want you to give my baby a name". That was so sweet, I thought a bit about a name and decided to name her Florence (after a friend who is a also midwife and loves to travel to Africa).

On Friday it was very quiet at the labour ward, so Lisanne and I decided to do interviews for our research. We worked hard and did 8 interviews. The woman are very willing to help us and answer our questions. In the interviews we are also asking about there thoughts and if they would like to change something. We can see that they are not used to getting those questions, but it is really nice to listen to them and hear what they have to say.

We are now half way through our internship and it is the last day of 2016, time is flying by. I can't even explain the appreciation the women have for us, they thank us for helping. I am telling them thank you for letting me help you, because it must be weird for them to see a stranger, a Mzungu (white one) help them. While being here I feel even more it was the best choice ever to choose for midwifery. Helping the women, see them become mothers and taking care of their babies makes me so grateful. The sun shining on my skin, wind through my hair and a beautiful view to look at, it makes me so happy. This year has been an amazing year. Ofcourse I am missing the people at home and wish I could end the year with them, but I am unbelievable lucky to end the year here in Uganda. In 2017 I will be graduating as a midwife, it is going to be a great year and I can't wait to see what it will bring me.

I wish you all a Happy 2017!
Lots of love from Uganda

  • 31 December 2016 - 14:51

    Janne:

    You are a brave midwife and I love you

  • 31 December 2016 - 15:29

    Ellen:

    Prachtig verhaal lieverd!
    Ik hoorde net bij de Top 2000 "Dochters" van Marco Borsato.
    Denkend aan jou heerlijk meegezongen! Xxx

  • 01 Januari 2017 - 10:47

    Saskia:

    Wat een mooi verhaal, Irene! En wat fijn dat het zo goed gaat en dat je zo gewaardeerd wordt! Heel veel liefde en gezondheid gewenst voor 2017!

  • 01 Januari 2017 - 19:47

    Annemie:

    Hallo Irene, ik ben erg onder de indruk van je verhalen. Je beschrijft je werk en belevenissen zo goed en mooi, leuk om dat mee te beleven.
    Fijn dat je er ook zo,n goed gevoel bij hebt en gewaardeerd wordt. Je doet veel indrukken op die je niet gauw vergeet en waar je in de toekomst misschien nog veel aan zult hebben.
    Geniet nog van de tijd! Groetjes

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Oeganda, Masaka

Uganda

Stage & safari

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Januari 2017

Safari & back home in Amsterdam

13 Januari 2017

Internship done, time for a holiday!

07 Januari 2017

Work work work

04 Januari 2017

Half way point of the trip

31 December 2016

The end of an amazing year
Irene

Actief sinds 19 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 499
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6424

Voorgaande reizen:

19 December 2016 - 20 Januari 2017

Uganda

Landen bezocht: